Wonderful ribs in Memphis

Having been disappointed at the ribs served up at the famous Rendezvous in Memphis, I headed south to 2265 Third Street and the home of Jim Neely’s Interstate Bar-B-Que. I have not eaten in all of the Memphis rib joints, but I have to say that, so far, these are the best ribs I have ever had in my life.

dscn4409wtmk.jpg

I got the large order of pork ribs for $8,75, which came with two sides: I chose beans and potato salad. These ribs were perfect You could have held onto one end of a rib, snapped it with your wrist, and the meat would come right off. If someone had aimed one of Jim Neeley’s ribs at me like that, I would have caught it in the air like a dog and barked for more. Here’s what the plate looks like:

dscn4414wtmk.jpg

The ribs were done yet moist, smoky but tender, and seasoned just right with sauce. Neeley’s offers beef and pork ribs, smoked chicken and turkey, chopped or sliced beef and pork, rib tips, beef links, and barbeque spaghetti, which is pork in a mixture of barbecue sauce and spices. I’ll bet Tony Soprano never had anything like that. Here’s a Neely’s waitress with what looks like barbecued hair.

dscn4410wtmk.jpg

Neely’s is not far from Soulsville, and seeing both on the same day is an excellent idea. Neely’s also has a small branch in the Memphis airport, so even if you are just connecting flights in Memphis, as I sometimes do en route from Denver to Tri-Cities, don’t settle for MacDonalds or other airport food.

You can order a shipment of Jim Neely’s ribs by calling 888-227-2793.

5 Responses to Wonderful ribs in Memphis

  1. cathymccaughan says:

    Memphis bbq is DRY, not sloppy. That wet stuff doesn’t even count.

  2. Pam says:

    just wondering if you ever tried “Smokey Bones” in memphis when they were open and if you liked it?

  3. tennesseeguy says:

    I never ate at Smoky Bones but from everything I’ve heard about it, I wish I had.

  4. Gerald says:

    After tasting Rendezvous’, Corky’s and Neely’s in May of 2006. Neely’s was the best hands down. Also while stationed at NAS Memphis is 1983 I had the best bbq at a restaurant I think was called Gridleys or something like that spelling. Does anyone know what happened to that establishment?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

