‘Mayberry’ in Tennessee

East Tennessee seems to be the place for people who want to create their own little utopias–antique-filled backyard paeans to the past. Just down the road from one such place in Rogersville lies Mayberry, a tribute to the Andy Griffith classic TV show. This one was built by John and Ruby Hitch and stands in the Seymour community south of Knoxville.

Photo courtesy of Sisters of the Silver Sage

Mayberry consists of buildings containing items from the time that the Andy Griffith Show was on the air. Structures include Wally’s Service Station, Floyd’s Barber Shop, a grocery store, and a courthouse. The Hitches open Mayberry to the public on Saturday nights from May through September for tours and concerts. For details, call (865) 579-6653.

The Hitches also host two radio shows, one of which is “Mayberry Country Classics,” which can be heard from 10:00 AM until 11:00 AM Eastern time on Saturday here.

This blog is part of a much larger website, also entitled Tennessee Guy, that contains travel and cultural information about Tennessee. Visit it here.

9 Responses to ‘Mayberry’ in Tennessee

  1. Tommy Shortt says:

    I am a solo country singer from Duffield Virginia. and I have sang on John and Ruby Back porch a few Times. Back when Thay had the great Band That would Back up all of the singers like my self. what Great Memories That was
    Thank you so much
    yours Truely Tommy!

  2. david mcdonald says:

    Hi!
    I would like more information on this place.
    Thanks

  3. Tommy Berrier says:

    I have lived in Seymour all my life (60 years old) and just saw your Mayberry on Tennessee Crossroads. I am also a big fan of the Andy Griffith show,in my opinion the best TV sitcom ever produced

  4. Hi John and Ruby, While surfing I was pleased to come across your website! Some of my fondest memories are of singing on Saturday night at the Tennessee Valley Barndance. I still sing and play piano for the Lord and I am a full-time Wedding minister traveling throughout the area, I live in Seymour, and my phone number is (865) 296-2768.

    If you have a church or chapel at your park I would be honored to perform ceremonies for you. I’m a Church Ordained Baptist Minister with Liberty College seminary and I perform non-denominational services!

    It would wonderful to see you agan and I’d really enjoy a singing invitation sometime when you get cranked up in the spring, I have picked up a kind of a nick-name over the past couple of years, I was nominated for Gospel Solo Artist of 2008 by the GMC and although I didn’t win they began referring to me as gospel musics “Burl Ives”, this is an honor to me as I dearly loved Burl Ives! Give me a call anytime up to 11pm.

    John and Ruby I ask God to Bless you in everyway.

    Jack

  5. Danielle says:

    I’m sorry to report, but John Hitch (my father-in-law) recently passed away after a long battle with a heart battle shortly after he turned 77. He will be missed by many. There are no longer shows or a radio show.
    Respectfully,
    Danielle

  6. Danielle says:

    Sorry, I mistyped, it was a heart problem. And Mayberry is closed to the public and not offering tours. Thank you.

  7. Tana Eubanks says:

    I am so sorry to hear of John’s passing.. I met him many years ago when i was married to Tony Eubanks..John was a wonderful person and i wish i had known how close you all were to me , as i live in Pigeon Forge and didn’t realize you all had the Mayberry Place in Seymour…. My thoughts and prayers are with you all…. Tony just told me this news this morning…..

  8. Mary Anna Potter says:

    My husband Doug Potter had wanted me to meet John and Ruby; we have a picture hanging downstairs with them. Doug spoke often of the many happy memories of time spent with John and Ruby and had phoned a couple of years ago and spoke with Ruby about coming to visit. She told him then “Just stop by anytime; John must have passed shortly thereafter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

