Oak Ridge historic inn faces meltdown

Of all the hotels in Tennessee, the Alexander Inn in Oak Ridge can probably claim to have hosted the smartest collection of guests at any given time. Built during the Manhattan Project, its guests included Enrico Fermi, Robert Oppenheimer, General Leslie Groves, and other luminaries who developed the atomic bomb.

The 78-room hotel has been closed for around ten years and has become so run down that neighbors want it demolished. The News Sentinel has an article describing the situation facing so many historic hotels: it is on the Historic Register. It needs work. “Someone” ought to buy it and fix it up.

More on the history of Oak Ridge can be found at the Atomic Heritage Foundation, from which the photo below was lifted.

alexander-inn-front.jpg

5 Responses to Oak Ridge historic inn faces meltdown

  1. With all of the internet comments of the inn being haunted- it could bring a profitt from guided tours. Just a suggestion. I stopped by there and took a few pics from the parking lot- it is beautiful!
    hazel shepherd

  2. Henry Puckett says:

    This hotel has peeked my interest. I’ve tried to do some research so I could write a book centering around this hotel, but I come up with very little information. The book is about the Inn being haunted, but I have very little information. If someone has anymore information than what the internet provides, please send me an email. My email address is henrydp19@yahoo.com.

  3. MARIA SEIBER says:

    I’M FOURTEEN AND ALL THOUGH IM YOUNG I THINK THE ALEXANDER INN IS ABSOLUTELY EXQUISITE. I JUST RECENTLY HEARD ABOUT IT FROM LOCAL FRIENDS AND FAMILY.THEN I ABSOLUTELY COULD NOT KEEP QUIET ANY LONGER , I HAD TO SEE THIS HOTEL EVERY ONE WAS SPEAKING OF. SO JUST THE OTHER DAY I WENT TO SEE IT. IT NEEDS A LOT OF WORK DONE TO IT ;BUT BESIDES THAT LITTLE DETAIL ITS NOT BOTHERING ANY ONE AND IF ANYTHING ,ITS A PRICELESS PIECE OF HISTORY THAT JUST NEEDS A LITTLE WORK. I FOR ONE WOULD BE GRAVELY UPSET IF IT GOT DESTROYED .ITS THE ONE THING ABOUT OAKRIDGE BESIDES THE ATOMIC MUESEM I LOVE!!!!! AND I FOR ONE BELIEVE WITH THE RIGHT MATERIAL IT WOULD BE ANOTHER TOURIST ATTRACTION !!!! I SEE OPPURTUNITY AND HOPE THAT THE OWNER AND EVERY ONE ELSE DOES TOO. PLEASE PRESERVE THIS PIECE OF PROPERTY AND DONT LET SUCH A BEAUTIFUL AND HISTORICAL HOTEL REST IN THE DUST INSTEAD OF BEING APART OF THE NEAR FUTURE.

  4. Sarah Cross says:

    Please visit the website: http://www.revitalizeoakridge.org/alexander-inn.php. The Alexander Inn has been purchased!!!

  5. Joshua says:

    I broke into the hotel twice it’s simple sometimes the windows are unlocked on the bottom just go inside and do some ghost research for yourself. I for one do not think it’s haunted I believe in ghosts but not at the Alexander inn didn’t see anything besides that damn raccoon in that underground basement thing under that trap door that’s built into the floor. If you wanna go somewhere haunted go to lakeshore the abandoned insane asylum in Knoxville Tennessee been there twice also and the 2nd time about 2 o’clock was scary I didn’t see anything but my friend Allen did and I know I just kept getting alot of wierd feelings the place is definitely haunted with something I know

Leave a Reply

