Mexican Coke–legal and good for what ails you

When I was a child, the standard remedy in our household for an upset stomach was Coca-Cola and saltine crackers. That time I tried to drive and chew Red Man tobacco at the same time and hit a bump and swallowed a mouthful of juice, I stopped at a store right fast and drank a Coke and ate some crackers. It worked, and I didn’t get sick.

mexican-coke.jpg

The Cokes we drank back then came in light green colored glass bottles. There were the small Cokes, holding six ounces, and the larger ones, which held 12. People used to get into arguments about whether or not the smaller bottles contained a better version of coke.

Jack Neely writes about the ubiquitous 20-ounce plastic Cokes that one finds everywhere these days, then he hears someone order a “Mexican coke.” Seems the influx of folks from south of the border has brought Coke bottled in Mexico to local markets where there is a high Hispanic population, and these Cokes taste the closest thing you will find to the elixir of old. They also come in thick, glass bottles.

This article explains the taste difference is there “‘because (Mexican coke) uses cane sugar instead of high-fructose corn syrup, the sweetener found in the domestic recipe,’ said Coke spokesman Mart Martin.”

This blog is part of a much larger website, also entitled Tennessee Guy, that contains travel and cultural information about Tennessee. Visit it here.

3 Responses to Mexican Coke–legal and good for what ails you

  1. Byron says:

    Interesting article. I’ve got some of those old green colored Coke bottles down in my basement (empty of course). Coke just hasn’t been the same since they changed the formula. I’d be interested in trying one of them there Mexican Cokes though…

  2. Haeshdfj says:

    i love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day i love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day love coke its my favorite drink i drink it every day

  3. Congure says:

    They sell the mexican cokes at my local store, And They’re right under the Liter bottles (Yes, Single liter bottles of coke) They’re 12 cents cheaper, And they use real sugar and taste MUCH better. I get the mexican cokes every time.

Leave a Reply

