Kingsport: sushi on Broad Street

stir-fry-cafe

I went back to Kingsport for Christmas and went down to Broad Street, which in my boyhood was the main commercial street of the city, stretching from the train station to Church Circle, a monument to Protestant diversity. On that street I did something I never thought I would do in my hometown: eating sushi.

In Kingsport, Tennessee. The place was Stir Fry Cafe, a small chain with locations in Knoxville, Johnson City, and Asheville. The restaurant was in the old Baylor Nelms Furniture location, where my family used to shop. The sushi was fresh and it was good. Stir Fry is a bright spot in a rejuvenating downtown, and I hope it thrives.

This blog is part of a much larger website, also entitled Tennessee Guy, that contains travel and cultural information about Tennessee. Visit it here.

One Response to Kingsport: sushi on Broad Street

  1. I love Stir Fry Cafe! It is a place that my wife and I go to when we want to have good asian/thai food. The coconut chicken soup is incredible (and hot). We have not had a bad dish there and suggest it to everyone.

    Sean & Patricia Halliday
    http://www.thetricitiesbest.com

Leave a Reply

